Association of Yukon Communities
Frequently Asked Questions

Expand/Collapse All

What is AYC?

The AYC is a registered society, founded in 1974, and made of up of municipal members and Local Advisory Councils and First Nation associate members. A thirteen person Board of Directors includes four elected Executive (President, 1st VP, 2nd VP and either a Past President or a VP-at-Large) and nine appointed representatives. All directors are elected officials in their respective municipalities.

Where can I find contact information for all the municipalities and Local Advisory Councils?

Yukon Government provides an up to date list on the Community Affairs website:


Where are AYC meetings held?

AYC holds four board meetings a year, including the AGM. While the fall meeting is usually held in Whitehorse, the other meetings are rotated among the members’ communities. The calendar shows upcoming meetings.

Does AYC hold membership in other organizations?

AYC is proud to be members of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) and the Yukon Chamber of Commerce.

Will AYC give us donations?

As AYC is a non-profit organization, it does not provide donations to other NGOs.

Can our organization address your members?

AYC makes limited time available for presentations at its Board Meetings, and at the AGM. Contact the Manger of Operations at [email protected] or 668-4388 to make inquiries.